The Central Board of Secondary Education or CBSE on Monday dropped English Communicative and English Elective from Class 9 and 11 educational curricula respectively. The board dropped a few different courses and has introduced new subjects.

In a round to all schools, the board expressed that “enlisted” subjects will be discontinued from academic session 2018-19. Here’s a point by point take a look at all the suspended subjects:

Subjects discontinued for Class 9 students are:
1. English Communicative (code 101)
2. Information and Communication Technology (code 166)
3. e-Publishing and e-Office (code 354 & 454)

Subjects discontinued for Class 11 students are:
1. Dance – Mohiniyattam (code 062)
2. Multimedia and Web Technology (code 067)
3. English Elective CBSE (code 101)

The board merged three academic electives. These courses will be offered as Vocational Electives from the session 2018-19 in Class 11. These subjects are:

1. Agriculture (code 068)
2. Fashion Studies (code 053)
3. Mass Media Studies (code 072)

From this year onwards ‘Sanskrit Communicative’ (code 122) has been renamed ‘Sanskrit’ (code 122) as prescribed by NCERT. ‘Foundations of Information Technology’ (code 165) has additionally been renamed to ‘Computer Applications’ (code 165).

Two new courses for Computer students Computer Science (Old) and Computer Science (New). Schools have additionally been offered. Be that as it may, all such school offering old curriculum have been asked for to inform their teachers about the new syllabus to prepare them better for the new syllabus which will be the only option from 2019-20 academic year.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Lakshya Kumar
Load More In India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

IBM reveals world’s smallest computer

Tech giant IBM has disclosed the world’s smallest computer estimating 1 x 1 mm. This…