The Narendra Modi government is by all accounts growing its smart city program. In the most recent move, the government has added nine more urban cities  to the program, which was propelled by Prime Minister Narendra Modi two years prior.

Since its beginning, the NDA government had distinguished 90 urban communities that would be produced as keen urban communities, and with the most recent expansion, the number has gone up to 99.

The declaration of new cities in the rundown was made by Minister for Housing and Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri. The rundown has three names from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)- ruled Uttar Pradesh, aside from those from various states.

Here’s the list of the new cities in smart city programme:

1. Silvassa (Dadra and Nagar Haveli)

2. Erode (Tamil Nadu)

3. Diu (Daman and Diu)

4. Bihar Sharif (Bihar)

5. Bareilly (Uttar Pradesh)

6. Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh)

7. Moradabad (Uttar Pradesh)

8. Saharanpur (Uttar Pradesh)

9. Kavaratti (Lakshwadeep)

The nine urban areas were chosen from 15 urban communities that had presented their recommendations to the service, the authority said.

Uttar Pradesh’s Meerut, Ghaziabad, Rampur and Rae Bareli were among urban areas that neglected to influence the slice for Smart City to tag.

Silvasa topped the rundown of victors in this round.

“The nine cities selected have proposed an investment of Rs 12,824 crore… Which would be impacting 35.3 lakh persons living in these areas,” Puri told a press conference.

He said these urban communities have proposed to take up different undertaking, including “smart” streets, revival of water bodies, cycle tracks, strolling ways, keen classrooms, ability advancement focuses, upgradation of wellbeing offices and container city ventures like incorporated summon control focus.

These cities have proposed 409 projects which would get around 61 per cent funding from the Centre and the state, Puri said.

The last expansion to the rundown of keen urban areas was finished by the legislature in June 2017. Upwards of 30 urban communities were incorporated into the program.

A portion of the names included were Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala), Muzaffarpur (Bihar), Satna (Madhya Pradesh), Shimla (Himachal Pradesh), Dehradun (Uttarakhand) and Srinagar (Jammu and Kashmir).

Load More Related Articles
Load More In India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Rahul Gandhi urges people to vote for congress using #VoteNyayVoteCongress

Rahul Gandhi urges people to vote for for Justice as today second phase of elections start…